Skip to content

Change font size

Converter boxes with Concertone?????

Generalized RV discussion not covered in another forum - the "Catch All" for RV talk!

Moderator: Zinger

Forum rules
Although RV-forums.org is an easy-going place, we do have a few easy to follow rules. Please read up on them here.

Converter boxes with Concertone?????

Unread postby skipnchar on Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:27 pm

Anybody figure out how to use a converter box with your Concertone TV? I'm thinking this just MIGHT be a good time to upgrade the TV set to one with an ATSC tuner. Any information would be helpful but otherwise I'll be calling Forest River tomorrow. Need to find out how to remove the Concertone tuner to access the connections. I've got a habit of just prying until something gives but in case there's a truck to removing the unit thought I'd ask.
2007 Rockwood 8314SS Travel Trailer
F-150 HD OR F-250 PSD SCREW (whichever I feel like driving)

Image
User avatar
skipnchar
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:20 am
Location: Topeka Kansas

Re: Converter boxes with Concertone?????

Unread postby Filthy Beast on Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:15 am

On our Rockwood, there is an antenna connection/amplifier. I hooked the converter box to the antenna connection and then took the audio and video outputs from the converter and connected them to the video input that I guess was put in for video games and vcr. I then turned the Concertone to the Aux input. After all this I found that the amplifier seemed to be wired backwards so I had to switch to the other connection on the amplifier. This seems to work well now.
Goody Two Shoes and the Filthy Beast
2008 Silverado 2500HD
4X4 Extended cab
6.6L Duramax, Allison Trans
2005 Rockwood 8280SS 5er
User avatar
Filthy Beast
Member
Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:45 am
Location: New Mexico

Re: Converter boxes with Concertone?????

Unread postby skipnchar on Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:15 pm

Thanks for the tip. I wired mine just like a VCR and it works just fine. I still think I'll be upgrading the TV but wanted to give the converter box a try first.
2007 Rockwood 8314SS Travel Trailer
F-150 HD OR F-250 PSD SCREW (whichever I feel like driving)

Image
User avatar
skipnchar
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:20 am
Location: Topeka Kansas

Re: Converter boxes with Concertone?????

Unread postby catmom on Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:30 pm

DH says he'd probably do what you tried, Skip. Our 2008 came with a digital TV so we are saved that hassle, anyway.
2007 Toyota Tundra SR5 CrewMax 5.7L w/ tow pkg
2008 Flagstaff 831RLSS
User avatar
catmom
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Converter boxes with Concertone?????

Unread postby skipnchar on Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:08 pm

I'm thinking about dropping in a 26" TV on an extending mount. I THINK thee would still be room to get the slide in and out without removing the TV but of course it wouldn't fit into the recess in the entertainment center like our 20" model does. Char is lobbying for stopping at something that is 22" wide so it fits better. Maybe I'll just start talking about a 40" model and that 26 won't sound so big then :mrgreen:
2007 Rockwood 8314SS Travel Trailer
F-150 HD OR F-250 PSD SCREW (whichever I feel like driving)

Image
User avatar
skipnchar
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:20 am
Location: Topeka Kansas

Re: Converter boxes with Concertone?????

Unread postby catmom on Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:24 pm

:mrgreen:

I think our TV is about 22" (without putting the slide out and looking). Just guessing. It fits just fine in the indent. 40" would make a statement, though!
2007 Toyota Tundra SR5 CrewMax 5.7L w/ tow pkg
2008 Flagstaff 831RLSS
User avatar
catmom
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Illinois


Return to General RV Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Up Login   Register Up