Skip to content

Change font size

Newbie Buying Early 70’s E(?)Camper w/ Many Questions.

Generalized RV discussion not covered in another forum - the "Catch All" for RV talk!

Moderator: Zinger

Forum rules
Although RV-forums.org is an easy-going place, we do have a few easy to follow rules. Please read up on them here.

Newbie Buying Early 70’s E(?)Camper w/ Many Questions.

Unread postby stevennlv on Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:13 pm

Hi everybody,

I’m Steven, I’m a newbie and I’ve got a ton of questions. I’m hoping that maybe I can pick your brains?
Short version of a very long story: I was moving from Charlotte to Salt Lake City for work when my truck broke down in Louisville and I can’t afford to fix it. There’s a guy here with an RV I’m looking at. He’s willing to work with me and do some horse trading. My truck needs about $2500 to fix and then he could flip it for about $7500. (I’m cool with that. I don’t have the $2500 to fix it.) He has an early 1970’s Econoline RV.

But I’m not even sure that he even really knows what it is. I’ve seen some pictures and it’s definitely an early 1970’s Econoline RV. He says it has 76K miles and has been very well maintained.

But, he also says that it’s a “Utopia”. However, when I search on the net according to everything I’ve found a Utopia was a Dodge RV? Also he says that it’s a 1972. But I’m not sure about that either. It has one of the old pre-1980 non-standardized VIN’s (E30GNH03006). I’ve racked my brains scouring the internet for the last six hours before I found you guys. I cannot pull any hard info on that VIN; no matter where I think to look. I’ve found some Ford truck VIN sites that claim to be able to read part of the VIN. They both tell me that they can’t read the model, but that it was made in VA in NOV69 and has Windsor 302 V8 w/ 2 barrel carb.