Skip to content

Change font size

Formatting for Title of Link

We are still a growing forum and your ideas are important to us - share your thoughts here. and if you need help with the forum or it's features, here's the place to ask.

Formatting for Title of Link

Unread postby Little Kopit on Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:23 pm

Just have a look at my signature.

I swiped from elsewhere. & had to shorten too.

Why oh why oh why oh why oh why does the code that works everywhere else not work here? GROWL.

Most of the time I would rather see the detail in link. Often and often it gives you important information about the source. In signature, I really want it to be titles, not sources.

:(
& I, I took the road less travelled by

My Photo Album, featuring Labrador 2006



Image
User avatar
Little Kopit
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: The Maritimes.ca

Re: Formatting for Title of Link

Unread postby wintek on Wed Nov 19, 2008 6:18 pm

wintek
Established Member
Established Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 5:56 pm
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana

Re: Formatting for Title of Link

Unread postby Little Kopit on Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:30 pm

Thank you for the suggestion. It does work.

Now, my suggestion to you. Don't do too short forms in your content.

I had to open two windows, one with my profile and signature and one with your post as a quote before I could see that you meant.

take the quotation marks out of the link


Like many others, I'm not a good proof reader and going through character by character always has been unwanted.

The other way is to show code with spaces, ie. [ url ] content........ [ /url ]

:)
LK
& I, I took the road less travelled by

My Photo Album, featuring Labrador 2006



Image
User avatar
Little Kopit
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:09 pm
Location: The Maritimes.ca

Re: Formatting for Title of Link

Unread postby PrivatePilot on Thu Nov 20, 2008 9:42 pm

The forum software that we use utilizes what most people consider "standard" BBCode - members interested can read about it HERE.

Other forums use their own codes which do not adhere to these standards, so some may consider them normal, but in reality they're really not.

BBCode is quite easy (and handy) once you get used to using it, but as you learned even a small typo can lead to broken code that doesn't do as intended. ;)
User avatar
PrivatePilot
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Courtice, Ontario, Canada


Return to Suggestions & Forum Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

Up Login   Register Up
cron