Skip to content

Change font size

Looking for campground from Toronto to 1000 Islands

Discuss issues related specifically to RV'ing in Canada here.

Looking for campground from Toronto to 1000 Islands

Unread postby Loulou4nier on Thu Jun 02, 2016 5:59 pm

Hi, I'm hoping someone might be able to offer some advice. We have rented a 26 foot motor home for the first time. We are super excited but are complete newbies. We leave from Whitby Ontario July 15th with our ultimate destination PEI.

The first part of our trip we would like to stop at 1000 islands and do a boat tour. So somewhere between Whitby and Brockville we would like to stop for the night. Even though we will only have been on the road a couple of hours we figured we would spend the evening getting organized, unpacked and familiar with the RV.

Provincial parks seemed to be booked so I am looking for recommendations for sites along the 401 or advice on where to find sites and what to look for. Any advice at all would be welcome.

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Louanne
Loulou4nier

Re: Looking for campground from Toronto to 1000 Islands

Unread postby Little Kopit on Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:56 am

I don`t know and won`t do southern ON because of the traffic.

In QC I`ve found, just follow the signs and your eyes.

Quebec City. ? Transit, near the bridge on the south shore. Go visit historic city. Lots of stuff along Gaspe. Lots of town cgs too. Again follow your nose or boon dock. Quebec Construction shuts down for two weeks. This year it is July 24 to August 7. Don`t try to camp in QC in that time.

Pick up again at Gaspé, national park Forillion. I like islands of NB off south and Maine coasts, Grand Manan, Deer Is, Campobello Is. There is a bridge from Lubec, Me. Also, Fundy, Tidal Bore, Saint John City Market, Acadian Historic Village, Moncton, Harland Covered Bridge.